keary_engle_2017mentor_award092117 copy-2


The Scripps Research Institute
Professor (2020–present)
Assistant Professor (2015–2020)


California Institute of Technology
NIH Postdoctoral Fellow (2013–2015)
Advisor: R. H. Grubbs

The University of Oxford
D.Phil. in Biochemistry (2008–2013)
Advisors: V. Gouverneur and J. M. Brown

The Scripps Research Institute
Ph.D. in Chemistry (2008–2013)
Advisor: J.-Q. Yu

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
B.S. in Chemistry, Economics, Mathematics, and Statistics (2003–2007)
Advisor: A. J. Matzger; Graduate Student Mentor: K. E. Plass


Keary graduated Phi Beta Kappa and summa cum laude from the University of Michigan, where he carried out research with Prof. Adam J. Matzger. During undergrad, he spent one summer with Prof. A. Stephen K. Hashmi at the University of Stuttgart as a DAAD RISE Fellow, and then spent the year after graduation performing research with Prof. Manfred T. Reetz at the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung as a Fulbright Scholar and with Prof. Jan E. Bäckvall at Stockholm University as an IDECAT Exchange Fellow. He completed his graduate work jointly at The Scripps Research Institute with Prof. Jin-Quan Yu and the University of Oxford with Profs. Véronique Gouverneur and John M. Brown, earning a PhD in Chemistry and a DPhil in Biochemistry. During grad school, he also carried out summer research with Prof. Kyoko Nozaki at the University of Tokyo as an NSF/JSPS EASPI Fellow. After completing a two-year appointment as an NIH Postdoctoral Fellow with Prof. Robert H. Grubbs at Caltech, Keary joined the Department of Chemistry at Scripps Research as an Assistant Professor in the summer of 2015 and was promoted to full Professor in 2020. His research interests lie at the interface of organometallic chemistry, organic synthesis, and catalysis. Outside of the lab, Keary enjoys running long distances, eating fried chicken, drinking good beer, and spending time with his wife, son, and fur children (Hermione and Kingsley).


Academic Tree


• International Precious Metals Institute (IPMI) Advisor Award, 2022
• Kavli Frontiers in Science Fellow, 2022
• ChemComm Emerging Investigator Lectureship, 2021
• NSF CAREER Award, 2021–2026
• Amgen Young Investigator Award, 2020
Catalysts Young Investigator Award, 2020
• Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award, 2020–2023
• Eli Lilly Organic Chemistry Award, 2020
• Cottrell Scholar Award, 2020
• Novartis Early Career Award in Chemistry, 2019
• Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, 2019
• Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship, 2019
• Boehringer Ingelheim Scientific Advancement Grant, 2018
• ACS PRF Doctoral New Investigator, 2018
• Bristol-Myers Squibb Unrestricted Grant, 2018
• Bayer Early Excellence in Science Award, 2018
• TSRI Society of Fellows Outstanding Mentor, 2017
• Thieme Chemistry Journal Award, 2017
• Donald E. and Delia B. Baxter Foundation Young Faculty Award, 2016
• Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher, 2015–2018
• IUPAC-Solvay International Award for Young Chemists, 2014
• Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NIH F32), 2014–2015
• Lincoln College Senior Scholarship, 2012–2013
• Syngenta Postgraduate Scholarship in Organic Chemistry—Runner-Up Prize, 2012
• Kenneth G. Hancock Memorial Student Award (ACS GCI), 2012
• Roche Excellence in Chemistry Award, 2012
• ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Travel Award, 2012
• JSPS/NSF East Asia and Pacific Summer Institutes Fellowship (with K. Nozaki), 2011
• Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award (AAC&U), 2011
Jairo H. Arévelo Fellowship (TSRI), 2010–2011
• NSF Green Chemistry Scholarship (ACS GCI), 2010
• Joseph Breen Memorial Fellowship,(ACS GCI), 2010
• Skaggs Oxford Scholarship, 2008–2013
• NSF Graduate Research Fellowship, 2008–2013
• NDSEG Fellowship, 2008–2011
• TSRI Deans’ Fellowship, 2008–2009
• IDECAT Exchange Fellowship (with J. E. Bäckvall), 2008
• Fulbright Scholarship (with M. T. Reetz), 2007–2008
• DAAD Study Scholarship (Declined), 2007–2008
• American Institute of Chemists Alumni Award, 2007
• Eugene Sullivan Scholarship in Chemistry (UM Chemistry), 2007
• John E. Parker Memorial Prize in Labor Economics (UM Economics), 2007
• Harmon C. St. Clair Award (Alpha Phi Chapter of Phi Gamma Delta), 2007
• Summer Language Institute Fellowship (UM SLI)2007
• DAAD RISE Fellowship (with A. S. K. Hashmi), 2006
• Eli Lilly Organic Chemistry Award, 2006
• ACS Analytical Chemistry Alumni Award, 2006
• Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship–Honorable Mention, 2006
• Jack Meiland Prize (UM Honors Program), 2006
• Ernest Sims Prize in Economics (UM Economics), 2006
• Frank Caleb and Margaret Thompson Gates Scholarship (UM Biostation), 2006
• Phi Gamma Delta Academic Achievement Award, 2005
• Sophomore Honors Award, (UM Honors Program), 2005
• James B. Angell Scholar (UM)2005–2007
• Alpha Chi Sigma Outstanding First Year Award (UM Chemistry), 2004
• Margaret and Herman Sokol Scholarship (UM Chemistry), 2004
• Telluride Association Residential Scholarship, 2004–2007
• Regents Merit Scholar (UM), 2003–2004
• Timothy Glupker Orthodontics Science Award (WOHS), 2003